Actress

About the Author: Anne Enright

Anne Enright was born in Dublin, where she now lives and works She has published three volumes of stories, one book of nonfiction, and five novels In 2015, she was named the inaugural Laureate for Irish Fiction Her novel The Gathering won the Man Booker Prize, and The Forgotten Waltz won the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction.


Free ↠ Actress By Anne Enright – Onedayyourdayweddings.co.uk
  • Hardcover
  • 272 pages
  • Actress
  • Anne Enright
  • English
  • 09 March 2018
  • 9781324005629

ActressFrom The Man Booker Prize Winner, A Brilliant And Moving Novel About Celebrity, Sexual Power, And A Daughter S Search To Understand Her Mother S Hidden TruthsKatherine O Dell Is An Irish Theater Legend As Her Daughter Norah Retraces Her Mother S Celebrated Career And Bohemian Life, She Delves Into Long Kept Secrets, Both Her Mother S And Her OwnKatherine Began Her Career On Ireland S Bus And Truck Circuit Before Making It To London S West End, Broadway, And Finally Hollywood Every Moment Of Her Life Is A Star Turn, With Young Norah Standing In The Wings But The Mother Daughter Romance Cannot Survive Katherine S Past Or The World S Damage With Age, Alcohol, And Dimming Stardom, Her Grip On Reality Grows Fitful And, Fueled By A Proud And Long Simmering Rage, She Commits A Bizarre CrimeHer Mother S Protector, Norah Understands The Destructive Love That Binds An Actress To Her Audience, But Also The Strength That An Actress Takes From Her Art Once The Victim Of A Haunting Crime Herself, Norah Eventually Becomes A Writer, Wife, And Mother, Finding Her Way To Her Own Hard Won Joy Actress Is Finally A Book About The Freedom We Find In Our Work And In The Love We Make And Keep

10 thoughts on “Actress

  1. Karen says:

    Thank you to Bookbrowse and W.W Norton for an advanced readers copy In return I will give an honest review I m a huge fan of Anne Enright One of my all time favorite books is The Gathering I ve also enjoyed The Green Road and The Forgotten Waltz So when this book was offered as a First Impression Review on Bookbrowse I jumped at the chance At first I was uncertain if I was going to like this book it felt different from her other novels but I kept reading and after a few pages into the book I was unable to put it down The character of Katherine O Dell was engrossing Yes maybe a bit stereo typical of an actress, eccentric and always playing a part But I loved her I would recommend this book to bookclubs Lots to discuss such as the pros and cons of the life of an actor, mother and daughter relationships and the choices people make and why I would also recommend this book to all Anne Enright fans.

  2. Hannelore Cheney says:

    Thank you NetGalley and W.W Norton and Company for the eARC.Norah is recalling her mother Katherine O Dell s legendary stage and film career and what it was like to grow up with her It s a beautiful book sad, poignant and ultimately uplifting to me Her mother was a star loved by many in Ireland and as far as Hollywood, mesmerizing as both an actress as well as a singer Norah felt much loved by her mum, and was a quiet spectator of her stage performances as well as the many parties taking place in their home When Katherine descends into madness and eventually a harrowing death and the care Norah takes of her brought tears to my eyes The descriptions of life in 1970 s and 80 s Dublin, full of writers, directors and artists, was an eye opener The painful direction Catherine s life took because of her art, the getting older as an actress and the way it sucked the life out of her life made me glad I never had the urge to take to the stage A very stark and insightful look into the glamorous life of the arts and the way it affects the protagonists and the people in their orbit Fascinating, lyrical and definitely recommended, I thoroughly enjoyed this book.

  3. Lorri Steinbacher says:

    Read in prepub Due out 3 3 20 An interesting look at how fame and celebrity impact the mother and daughter relationship told through the lives of B list movie star Katherine O Dell and her daughter Norah In some ways, the story goes exactly how you expect it will distracted, dissatisfied mother, daughter left to her own devices to figure life out In other ways, the story surprises you, quietly Enright understands the kind of quiet power that relationships can exert on those in the midst of them You d expect this story to be messy, but it s told in spare, lyrical prose Recommended for fans of Anne Patchett and Enright s other books.

  4. Morgan Schulman says:

    I received an advanced reader s copy in exchange for an honest review A lyrically crafted story, flows like an old Celtic legend than a novel, about a fascinating woman The trope of the taciturn child writing about her horrible celebrity mother has well been worn, but this book feels fresh, and I enjoyed every bit of it Makes me want to go back and read her earlier bucks

  5. Bill Berger says:

    Excellent novel from one of my favorite authors Well written story of a famous Irish actress and her life with her daughter Ms Enright deserves to be really be read often Many thanks to Edelweiss for advance copy.

  6. Sylvia says:

    Really did not enjoy this I found it dull, dense and obtuse Too much Irish with references that meant nothing to me.

  7. Eileen says:

    A woman searches her past with movie star mother to find answers to questions about her life This was well written but overwrought at times Maybe 3 1 2 stars.